Tuesday, 10 June 2014

City Lit benchpeg awards 2014

The City Lit benchpeg Awards are now in their second year. The annual competition invites current students at City Lit to enter work, with three category options. Students can submit work whether they have studied at City Lit for ten years or ten hours. It is truly an award for all levels of jewellery makers, silversmiths and metal workers.

Awards are given for three category winners: beginner, intermediate and advanced. Each award offers a range of prizes provided by the award sponsors. This year sponsors include The Goldsmiths’ Company Assay Office, H S Walsh & Sons, Elizabeth Bone, Tamara Gomez, Elizabeth Olver, City Lit and benchpeg.

This year the entries were shortlisted to between 10-15 students by the award judges made up of jewellery industry personalities Dave Merry and Sascha Hurrell from the London Assay Office, Liz Olver Design Director at Annoushka and Rebecca van Rooijen of benchpeg. The shortlisted makers are then invited to display their work in a showcase opportunity at City Lit’s flagship venue on Keeley Street as part of ‘Jewellery Week’ at the college.

“The quality and standard of work submitted as part of last year’s inaugural awards was phenomenal and it is a testament to the quality of teaching at City Lit. benchpeg is proud to be associated with City Lit as it embraces makers of all levels, whether the hobbyist, the serious progressive student or the professional wishing to up-skill or dip into some continuing professional development. This is why benchpeg is proud to be associated with City Lit and these awards.” said Rebecca van Rooijen of benchpeg.

The winners will be announced at the special private view evening this week and celebrated in City Lit online gallery.

Here is a selection of some of the shortlisted students at all levels, beginner, intermediate and advanced.

To see the whole shortlist following this link

and read more here

Congratulations to this year's shortlisted entrants. Winners will be revealed on the 12th June at the awards evening.

Beginner: Celine Brissay, Natalia Markland, Regina Al-Habib Nmier, Kim Witcher, Beata Seglova, Adrienne Lolichon, Nilofar Akmut,

Intermediate: Alison Morris, Anja Twachtmann, Juliana Ballaminut, Carol Hunt, Eleanor Watson, Karina Cabrera, Jeanne Marell,

Advanced: Jane Nead, Kostadinos Karanikas, Sandra Bornemann, Susheel Rao, Barbara Fireman, Linda Godfrey, Shahin Aazar,

No comments:

Post a Comment